DIPOLOG CITY, April 3, 2024 – The Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC) Awarding Ceremony was held at the covered court of Miputak East Central School last March.

The Clarion of Dipolog Pilot Demonstration School illuminated the event as the overall victor in the Elementary School Paper English category. Meanwhile, The ZamPen Scholar of the Philippine Science High School-Zamboanga Peninsula Region Campus emerged as the top achiever in the Secondary School Paper English category.

In the Elementary School Paper Filipino category, Ang Pananaw of Galas Elementary School distinguished itself as the overall winner, while Ispektrum of ZNNHS claimed victory in the Secondary School Paper Filipino category.

Dipolog Pilot Demonstration School claimed triumph in both the Elementary Filipino and English categories for radio script writing and broadcasting. The journalists from DPDS demonstrated a profound command of both languages, crafting scripts that were not only captivating but also culturally resonant. Philippine Science High School-ZRC secured the top position in both the Secondary English and Filipino categories for TV script writing and broadcasting. The students from PSHS-ZRC showcased exceptional talent in crafting scripts that were not only compelling but also thought-provoking and well-executed.

Also, ZNNHS Turno emerged as the winner in the Secondary Category for online publishing, setting a new standard for digital storytelling and content creation. In the collaborative desktop publishing category, Dipolog Pilot Demonstration School secured the top position in the Elementary division, while Philippine Science High School-ZRC emerged victorious in the Secondary division. These schools displayed exceptional teamwork, creativity, and technical skill in producing visually appealing and content-rich publications.

All winning student-journalists are now gearing up for the 2024 Regional Schools Press Conference scheduled to commence tomorrow, April 4, and conclude on April 6. The contest venue, Zamboanga del Norte National High School, will host participants for competitions across 13 categories.

Regional winners will advance to the 2024 NSPC to be held in Cebu City in July of this year.

(via Paul Ariel S. Badiang, Teacher III of Sicayab Elementary School)