Dipolog City, Philippines – The annual Division Research Congress reached new heights at the Top Plaza Hotel on April 28-29, 2023. With a significant increase in participation, the number of researchers nearly doubled from 21 last year to 38 this year. The congress began with opening remarks from Assistant Schools Division Superintendent (ASDS) Lourma I. Poculan, followed by an inspirational message from Schools Division Superintendent (SDS) Ma. Liza R. Tabilon.

The event featured a distinguished panel including Curriculum Implementation and Development (CID) Chief Education Supervisor Amelinda D. Montero, School Governance Operation Division Chief Educ. Spvr. Nur N. Hussien, Senior Education Program Specialist (SEPS) for Research and Planning Terence Eyre B. Belangoy, Public Schools Division Supervisors (PSDS) Bernie P. Laranjo and Adrian G. Refugio, School Principal Joselito S. Tizon, and Assistant School Principal Venus J. Catipay. Over the course of two days, they reviewed and evaluated the 38 completed research projects.

The research papers were divided into five categories: Teaching and Learning, Governance, Child Protection, Disaster Risk Reduction Management, and Human Resource Training and Development. Notably, Disaster Risk Reduction Management and Human Resource Training and Development received special recognition as there was only one research project presented in each of these categories. The panelists assessed the researchers based on predefined criteria, which included various aspects, such as the abstract, introduction, literature review, research questions, research methods, results and discussion, conclusions and recommendations, as well as the oral presentation.

The esteemed awards were presented by SDS Tabilon, ASDS Poculan, and SEPS Belangoy. The recipients of the special awards were Deborah Mae Alejo for the Child Protection category, Leo Martino Alejo for the HRTD category, and Jufemysel M. Toquero, along with Jazelda Sy, for the DRRM category. In the Basic Research category, the awardees for Teaching and Learning and Governance were as follows: 1st place – Rosel Mahal and Terence Eyre Belangoy; 2nd place – Joyce Ozaraga; and 3rd place – Amelyn Benitez and Franklin Benitez. In the Action Research category for Teaching and Learning, the winners were: 1st place – Adrian Refugio; 2nd place – Marigold Opre, Riela Angela Josol, and Junar Anotado; and 3rd place – Ricardo Gabonada. Furthermore, there were awardees for poster presentations in both the Basic Research and Action Research categories.

After successfully defending their research papers, the program concluded with the awards ceremony, recognizing the outstanding contributions of the researchers.

By: Shellah Marie T. Pactol